Stress Ball, Busy Hands

So at the age of 2 A learned to suck her thumb.  Some days or is only a little,  others or is constant.  Well she told me the other day that she wanted to be a big girl & not suck her thumb (yay!).  But I noticed she did it at down times when she didn’t know what to do with her hands.  So I thought of she had something to squeeze it might help.

I found this neat tutorial (See here) about making your own stress balls.  And low and behold I had all of the needed materials.  

A was excited about helping me make the ball and I let her pick the color of the balloons.  (I leaned that I am not good at cutting a nice circle…).  And not to long later w had a completed stress ball.

The excitement lasted just a few seconds….boo, not a success.   Maybe if I make it using a rubber glove it works be better because then the fingers would give her something to hang on to. 

SKILLS: Self-soothing, Independence,

image

Categories: DIY, Independence | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

